On Thursday, Washington D.C. decriminalized marijuana. It’s now a civil offense, punishable by a $25 fine. Here in North Carolina, it’s will cost you a whole lot more than a $25 fine if you’re busted with it.
For example, if someone is charged for having a half ounce of marijuana or less, It’s a class three misdemeanor. With it comes a maximum fine of $200. The fines and possible jail time vary based on your criminal history.
If you have no prior convictions of any sort, you’re facing a 10-day suspended sentence. First timers also have the option of getting the case dismissed if they complete a drug treatment program. That program costs between $200 and $400.
If you have one to four prior convictions, the max fine stays at $200, but the maximum sentence is 15 days in jail.
Five or more convictions, and the maximum jail sentence is 20 days.
This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service — if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at fivefilters.org/content-only/faq.php#publishers.